April 4: Hold That ( … )

Hold That Train

Running
Late
Rushing
Shoe untied
Wind blowing
Ticket clenched between my teeth
Not sure where I’m going

But the brotha with the locs and the boombox
is aboard reading
Their Eyes Were Watching God

And the elder with the Bible’s
got some candy for the child
and when I smile she just nods

And the sista in the blue could be kin to Assata
Snappin pictures of her shoes
Tweeting where she got ‘em

And I wonder if there’s room

If the people on the journey saved me a seat
My soul knows the earth
is burning beneath my feet
If the people on board can see me
I think that they will wait

I’m late
I’m rushing
I’m running
But hold that train
I’m coming

Leave a Reply

