Coming to Terms with This Body

The other day, I was in a retail store shopping for a new dress to wear to my best friend’s wedding rehearsal dinner. I snagged a few and headed to the fitting room.

My daily attire (khakis, sweaters, etc) has caused only minimal alarm lately. I am aware that I have gained about 15 lbs over the last 8 months, and I have begun exercising regularly, but, for the most part, I’m cool.

But there’s something about a fitted dress…
I noticed my pot belly, love handles, widened hips, flabby inner thighs and a general “thickness” that has been foreign to me for most of my life. I’ve always been lean, athletic, and sinewy. Not anymore. I could still have that body of yesteryear…it would just take a lot more work now.

So, as I maneuvered my curves in and out of dresses, I wondered how to fit my feelings into this new body. The truth is, I am experiencing at 28 what many of my peers experienced years ago: a transition from an adolescent body to a grown woman body. And I feel an imperative to both accept and love this body and also work on it. 

While in the fitting room, I heard two women come into fitting rooms near mine. Based on their voices alone, I estimated them to be middle-aged. The first thing Woman 1 said was, “Oh these mirrors are horrible!”  

I guess we all have our own ways of coping with seeing something surprising in the mirror.

Leave a Reply

