Sparkling Water and Fire

Lately, I’ve been on a Perrier kick. My new-found (since Summer 2013) love for carbonated water led me to ask: What is the difference between seltzer water, club soda, tonic water, and sparkling mineral water? If you don’t know the answer to this question, get the scoop here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/04/19/seltzer-vs-club-soda_n_1434891.html
Turns out, I have a distinct preference for sparkling mineral water. (And that’s some “bougie” ass shit.) But nuances count.

One thing I’m learning about myself is that I have a penchant for that little, teeny space between. Like that space between grey and taupe. (My partner teases me for the specificity with which I name colors.)  Nuance. And I take special delight in cramming myself into that in-between space and then finding the words to articulate the distinctions. Yesterday, I said to my coworker/friend, “There’s a difference between ‘not taking’ and ‘giving’."  It would have been indulgent to explain the difference, but there was no need. She got it.

And this got me thinking about the little spaces that make a big difference in my life. You know, the other day on the radio, Steve Harvey (whose advice I normally find all kinds of problematic) said something that really resonated with me. He was talking to an admirer and fellow comedian about how he’s been successful, and he said (not verbatim), "It’s about the minutes. Most people divide their day into morning and evening or work hours and non-work hours, but that’s not a meaningful way to divide your time.These big chunks of time are too general. It’s about what you do with the minutes that will make a difference in your life.”

So, I am inspired to pay more attention to what I am doing with minutes. I think that using my time and energy strategically, constructively, and efficiently will make a huge difference in my life.
Which brings me to fire.

Several weeks ago, I purchased a book called The Fire Starter Sessions: A Soulful & Practical Guide to Creating Success on Your Own Terms by Danielle LaPorte. I am one chapter in, and already it is proving to be a total departure from the typical self-help-be-successful-change-your-life book. There are no 10 steps, 21 days, secret formulas, rules, or whatever the hell else. Just some radical, paradigm-shifting suggestions and some difficult questions. But it is insanely fun to read!

You know, there is a difference between what you’re competent at and your natural greatness. There’s often a difference between who you are, authentically, and who you’ve convinced yourself you should be. If you’re  lucky, the differences are only slight.

But Perrier and club soda are not the same thing.

So, here’s to sparkling water, a life on fire, and the 525, 600 minutes in this year!

Leave a Reply

