Day 1 – April Poem-a-Day

Prompt: Write an ending poem.

“Encounters with Black Texans”

Here
Jim Crow has not ended in their souls.
Still they are moving about,
eyes low,
Afraid to acknowledge me,
for I am proof that they are seen
and Black.
And my smile of solidarity becomes
a revealing act.

Here brothas and sistas
race
to the other side of the color line,
and fall away from the family tree like leaves in a light breeze
lest they be caught fraternizing with 
their roots.

Here
Jim Crow has not ended in their souls.
Maybe I should let them know:

They are black and they are free
and black is beautiful
and I know you saw me
and I am undone by your silent disavowal
of our shared history
when I smile and speak and you look away and cross the street.

Here
Jim Crow has not ended
in their souls.

Leave a Reply

